Moi. My thoughts...

Michael,

I want to share some thoughts on Moi, particularly relating to my day-to-day use:

I am running Moi V2. It used to be a helpful little tool to get some more complex shapes that I could not get with my go-to solid modeller. However in the last six months Moi has become vital to my day to day work, something I would not have been able to do my job without. Some background: I am a design engineer, specializing in mould tool design. I have worked in aerospace, automotive, food packaging and medical sectors. In this role I have been trained to work with Catia, Creo, Solidworks, Geomagic and Powershape. My employer does mostly automotive (Land Rover, Toyota, etc). His preferred software is Powershape and is what the company provides. I also use Geomagic and Moi in this role.

Much of my work involves working on existing mould design and what I have noticed over the years is that the supplied files are in a terrible shape. This stems, in my opinion, from the fact that the article designs are almost always done in Catia and the Catia, despite being incredibly capable can deliver absolutely unusable files (this stems from how Catia joins surfaces when using the generative shape design module but that a whole different story. As the resultant step files of articles and mould tools are comprised of badly joined surfaces the step are not solid and become impossible to work with. In many case I need to reverse engineer the article and from that the cavities or spend several days fixing surfaces.

Powershape is very good at this. It does have automatic healing functions but these are of no use to garbage files. Nevertheless it can import just about anything and will let you manually repair a file. That is where is falls short. It interface is very cumbersome to work with and completely counter-intuitive.

In steps Moi.