Let's Model a Car: A Tutorial

Car Tutorial Part 1
Ed Ferguson, CascadiaDesignStudio.com

You can also download a PDF version of this tutorial here: http://1drv.ms/1PNsXpQ

About this Tutorial:

Modeling a car in MoI is something I’ve always wanted to try. Some nice tutorials were done in the past (search MoI for “car tutorial”), and a few debates have taken place on the forum as to whether MoI is the appropriate tool to use. I hope this tutorial thread doesn’t invite a rehash of those debates.

My personal perspective is that:
1) I prefer to stay within one program.
2) I’m not a professional designer or modeler. I can’t afford the money or the time to use high-end tools.
3) I’m not building a real car. Let’s be clear: These are not manufacturing drawings. Exact dimensions and insane levels of detail are not the goal here. The end goal is to simply express a concept via a render.

Additions to the MoI tool set in versions 2 & 3 make the modeling task easier.

Max Smirnov’s SubD scripts introduced in March 2015 add a new optional feature to MoI : Polygon Modeling.

Advantages of using Polygon Modeling and Nurbs Modeling together:

* You stay 100% inside MoI. No exporting / importing to other programs.

* It’s a hybrid approach: SubD scripts in MoI for the organic body. MoI Nurbs tools for everything else. In other words, we’ll use the appropriate tools for each job.

* All your parts remain in one place so you can see how they fit together.

* All parts are solids. Therefore no painstaking building and matching a patchwork of body panel surfaces built from lofts and sweeps. Changing a simple SubD car body structure is easy for evaluating ideas. But if you choose to model a car body patch-by-patch using surfaces, changes will be difficult.

* Because the car body is a solid, creation of parts like headlight buckets, tail lights, wheel openings, scoops, etc. are done via simple Boolean operations.