MoI suitable for vehicle designs? Closed

Hi Andrei,

First off, thanks for your videos. They've been very helpful in learning how to use MoI.
FWIW, my name is Chipp, not Cheap. Cheap has a negative connotation in English. I know that wasn't your intention as ad hominem attacks really have no place on this, or any other forum.

Your cursory observation actually does have a bit of truth to it. I am not an expert modeler in any one single package. You can find plenty of better Industrial Designers who are better modelers and renderers for sure!

I feel that I could model this form easily *AFTER it is now designed* using Lightwave Modeler. I've been using it since version 4 (shows how much gray hair I have!) and am decent with SubDs. As you know, there is a huge amount of technical expertise which goes into proper SubD modeling. Building the correct cage with the correct Polyflow can be difficult and time consuming-- especially if you're trying to 'fake boolean' parts after creating a surface. But I digress.

I also know a bit about SubDs in SketchUp. I beta-tested Artisan (Dale Marten's Sketchup SubD tool, and even did the Artisan Lightcycle tutorial (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bo3W23-5dgI).

The key part for me in this exercise was to be able to 'find' the correct shape. While SubD's certainly can CREATE this shape-- and I did use them to initially do so:

The shape just wasn't crisp enough for me. I know it's a subtle difference from the final MoI model, but it was important. Sometimes I can tell when a design *originated* from SubD vs Splines. Something about the lack of crsipness..

The designs on this page have a different 'feel' from the work I'm now doing in MoI.