A letter to Michael

Michael,

I was going to send this privately, but figured it might help others as well. First off, sorry for blowing up the list here with so many questions. I hope it should end soon. :-)

As an Industrial Designer, I've been involved in 3D since the days of Cubicomp on the PC and Super3D on the Mac (1984). My company designed the Lunarbase for NASA Johnson space center 100 years ago and I modeled and did the very first Phong shaded walk through renders shown at NASA. My company built a fullscale mockup of it and then proceeded with the Mars Habitat design-- all done in 3D.

Fast forward 100 years and I've stayed pretty familiar with all the 3D packages. I own copies of Rhino3D, FormZ, Modo, Lightwave, SketchUp Pro, Keyshot, Vue Infinite and dabble in a few others. I enjoy playing around building stuff on my two 3D printers. A couple years ago I was commissioned by e-on software to create the book "Create 3D Like a Superhero" (including all the modeling and rendering) on how to do photorealistic environment rendering in Vue.

As recent as last month, I created the industrial designs, 3d models and renderings for 4 Wearables That Give You Superpowers for Fast Company and used the experience to sharpen my box modeling polyflow skills in Lightwave.

These days I spend much of my time managing creative and developer teams, designing software and writing code, and when possible I'm always up for 3D work if I can squeeze it in. Because of this, I find it very hard to 're-learn' programs like Rhino3D, Modo and others and prefer to use programs which have an easier learning curve and I can remember how to use after 6 months away-- like SketchUp and FormZ (I cut my teeth on Lightwave back in the day so it's sorta friendly to me now).

So, I tell you all this so that anyone reading this knows where I'm coming from. I'm fairly well versed in 3D for someone who doesn't make a living do it 40 hours a week. I know good products from bad ones.