Moi & linux

1583.42 In reply to 1583.35 
Hi AdderD,

> May I suggest that using mshtml to draw the interface for
> your desktop application is like using a hacksaw to open a
> can of soup? Sure, it might work fine but why would you
> do that when can openers exist?

You can certainly suggest it, but you'd be wrong! :)

I have a lot of experience in developing UI, and I can definitely tell you that a markup based UI mechanism is a huge time saver once it is all up and running.

The big difference is that HTML has a layout mechanism built into it, so the HTML engine handles all the details about expanding entities to fit around text, stuff like that.

It's one reason why MoI has some unique features like being able to set a fine-tuned UI scale (any point size can be set, not just "large or small icons"), or being able to switch to different languages on the fly without restarting the program.

To try these out, in MoI go to Options / General, and adjust the "UI size" slider, and switch the "Language" dropdown to a different language.

As far as I know it would be quite difficult to make this same kind of functionality in a Qt app. But if you know of any examples of a Qt app that has similar functionality please let me know so I can take a look!

It's also a major advantage to have the ability to have small bits of script logic bundled along with the UI, to handle some UI specific things like hiding or showing different portions in response to various UI actions. In MoI's UI system most of the UI is implemented in this way, it is a lot faster and more flexible way to do things than trying to handle each little bit of UI in C++ code. C++ code is great for making the building blocks, but then script or markup is better to handle gluing the building blocks together and arranging them.